E: The Museo Nacional

We to the Museo Nacional in Naples. They have old things from Pompei and Herculenium. This is a old mosaic of a cheetah from Herculenium.

p1050558.jpg

This is a part of a tall column covered with mosaic and shells.  This is from a temple in Pompei.  The four in the museum are the only mosaic-ed columns that are left.

p1050546.jpg

This is a really beautiful mosaic of a lion, it was made of really teeny squares of mosaic so you can’t really see it here.  We are looking at how there are different colors and shapes in the lion.

p1050552.jpg

Mama and I are looking at glass jars and ink bottles that survived in the giant Vesuvius explosion thingy.

p1050592.jpg

3 thoughts on “E: The Museo Nacional

  1. Emma,
    Wow! It must have taken a lot of patience to do those mosaics.
    Reading your blog makes me feel like I’m in Italy with you. Thanks for sharing your trip.
    Love,
    Debby

  2. WOW! I am so jealous. I think Pompeii and Herculenium are the COOLEST and I think you guys are lucky to have gone. Now you can teach me about mosaics and make one on Pine Street, I have been thinking about a fun project…

    I look forward to the stories when you come back.

  3. I wonder how this compares to the British Museum?

    Maybe you can draw this as well and reproduce a mosaic when you get home.

    So glad you are having a good time.

    Love, Grandma

Leave a Reply

