M: Racing with Tom

Homeschool Assignment:  Luge in Singapore starting with the word “Imagine” three times.  Max is working on TRANSITIONS.

Dec 14, 2009

Emma sliding down the Luge

Imagine that you had your own car driving by yourself down a steep hill toward the beach in Singapore.   Imagine that you are about to slam into a wall just half a foot tall and over the edge is a drop fifteen feet or more.  Imagine speeding next to your friend, racing him.

We were at the Singapore Luge on an island called Sentosa.  There is a mountain with a giant cement track that you slide down with a little plastic car.  The cars have steering wheels and brakes.  To get up the mountain you have to use a sky-lift.  It is like a lift you use for skiing.  We got there in the afternoon and went on three luge trips.  By the time we were done it was dark.

On the skylife

When we were in the car on the way to the Luge, I was really scared about crashing.  But, when I first saw the Luge, I thought that I was going to explode with excitement.  I was so excited about driving my own car.

The Luge is fun!

One of the exciting parts was when my friend, Tom, and I were racing and crashing into each other.  It was really fun because he was a lot faster than me, but I was really good at crashing.  I could turn easier because I got a better cart.

That was our last ride on the Luge.  Then we had dinner there and we left.  When we were walking back to the car, I wished we could go back to the Luge.

3 thoughts on “M: Racing with Tom

  1. Wow, Max, thank you for telling me about your adventure on the Luge. I know that is something I would watch and worry about while you and Emma were racing. (I am actually happier hearing the story after your visit.)

    It is not hard for me to ‘ïmagine’ how excited you were and how much fun it was to go really fast.

    Glad you are home now.
    Love you,
    Grandma

  2. Dear Max,
    You described the luge so well that I can picture it and know it’s not something I would try! But I’m glad you did it and liked it so much.
    I can’t wait to see you on Saturday.
    love,
    Debby

Leave a Reply

