M: VIP Hotels

Imagine driving up to your hotel.  A man dressed in his fancy uniform walks up to the taxi and opens your door.  Other fancy men put your luggage on the velvet trolley.  The doorman greets you and the cool air washes over you as you step in.  The lobby is filled with flowers, velvet, and free mints.  You have arrived at your five star hotel in Singapore.

Staying at fancy hotels makes me feel like a VIP.  I like walking in my room and seeing the big bed with a soft comforter and huge pillows. The sheets are white and clean, just washed that day; it makes me want to flop on the bed and read, but I have another thing to do:  The buffet.

One of my favorites is called the Spiral Buffet.  It’s a 5-star buffet with every kind of food you can imagine.  My favorite is the juice stand where you can get fresh juices and make combinations yourself.  You pick out fresh fruit, and the juice-chef blends them into a sweet and delicious mix.

Usually posh hotels have very nice pools.  I like pools that are big, bright, sparkly and clean.  I like comparing the different pools in different hotels.  The Singapore Hilton’s pool is deep, big, and fun.  Another marvelous pool is at the Marina Bay Sands; it is on the roof, around 50 stories above the ground.  When you look out you see the whole of Singapore beneath you.  On the other side you can see the islands of Indonesia across the ocean.

The lights and mirrors in the elevators are superb.  I like to look at the different lights and to make faces in the mirrors when we go up and down in the lifts.   The doors open into new lands of shiny tile floors, indoor fountains, and high ceilings going up to the sky as I look up and see sparkly lights shining in my eyes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “M: VIP Hotels

  1. Dear Max,
    I love fancy hotels too–they’re fun. But I have never seen a swimming pool like the one in your photos.
    I think the elephants would like the juice buffet too!
    love,
    Debby

  2. Max, How amazing that you already have so much experience as a world traveler that you can compare posh hotels around the world! Wow!! A nice (really nice, like this one) makes me feel very special and pampered..which is so nice because when I travel I always feel a little “displaced”. A really nice hotel definitely makes up for that!
    Love,
    Grammy

  3. Ok, Max. Did you feel like you could fall off the edge of that pool. What a fantastic view across the top. I must say swimming in that pool with pictures to share is a far cry from your visit to Cambodia.

    The elevator, buffet and doorman….

    You certainly have sophisticated accommodation tastes! I can see myself there quite happily!

    Love you lots,
    Grandma

Leave a Reply

