E: New Tradition: Sunday Suppers!


Sunday Suppers! What is this?

I’m starting a new family tradition where every Sunday, I (sometimes with the help of Max) cook dinner every Sunday. I learn how to plan (as if I need more practice!), cook (more complicated things like butchering chicken), clean up, write my own blog posts, coordinate meals (one veggie, protein, carbohydrate, dessert that go well together), and get everything done at the right time. This is the fourth Sunday in a row and I am pleased with the results so far.

In about a year I am planning to collect all the recipes I have used so far and put them together in a real cookbook for kids. I love and cherish a cookbook called Riverside Cottage Family Cookbook which explains everything from cutting meat to making cheese and dessert. It has many pictures and easy to follow instructions. I plan to make my cookbook just as good and designed for kids like me who want to learn real skills and cook real food. Not that there’s a problem with easy-bake ovens and macaroni and cheese, but when you reach a certain age, you want to cook real food.

These are the first four meals:

February 20, 2011

  1. Baked Chicken
  2. Green Beans
  3. Fried Mashed Potatoes

This meal was inspired by by Laura Ingalls Wilder Cookbook.  As with most things you do for the first time, it was not the best meal– or at least as I expected.  It was hard to plan it and get the timing right so that all the food was ready at the same time.  But I was excited to keep going and looked at my books for more ideas.

Sorry no photo of this one!! But it was delicious– maybe the best so far. I plan on making it again and we will get photos next time!

February 27, 2011

  1. Lamb kebabs
  2. Fragrant rice
  3. Raita
  4. Flat breads
  5. Cheesecake

All of the things from this meal were homemade and from the Riverside Cottage Family Cookbook.

March 6, 2011

  1. Cheese Straws
  2. Biscuits
  3. Salad
  4. Soup
  5. French Apple Tart

This meal was delicious but maybe a little un-healthy and elaborate. This was the first meal using other cookbooks: Baking Illustrated and Sunday Soup, both of which I highly recommend. Mama says that if she could only take one cookbook to college,  Baking Illustrated would be it. This book has everything!

March 13, 2o11

  1. Cheesy Cauliflower
  2. Veggie Fritters
  3. Lemon Rosemary Chicken
  4. Rice Pilaf
  5. Shortbread With Special Strawberries and Homemade Ice-cream

This was tonight’s meal an oh am I stuffed! The veggie fritters were a special hit, though Max refused to eat dinner when he found out that there were mushrooms in the fritters. The best thing about this dinner is that it’s pretty quick and easy and the fritters use almost any veggies in the fridge. The ultimate kitchen sink dish! Everyone was impressed with the texture of the shortbread.

I’m so excited to have another big project to work on and I hope you like reading about it!  Check back on Mondays to see our next installment!

8 thoughts on “E: New Tradition: Sunday Suppers!

  1. Hi Emma,
    You need to add an E to the beginning of this blog post cause it took me a while to figure out the author!
    So I guess I better plan my next visit on a Sunday night 🙂
    love,
    Debby

  2. Wow Emma! I am so hungry right now and I must go and cook something as your photos and words stimulated my appetite. I sent your blog onto a friend of mine who has written many cook books. Her name is Cat Cora and she was the first woman to win “Iron Chef”. Last week we created the Heartshine Soup Kitchen for Heartshine week. I would love for you to meet her someday when you visit Santa Barbara. Love to you and your healthy family, Marilynn

  3. Wow E, that looks so yummy! I loved reading your post, I appreciated the clear writing almost as much as the food!!! But now I’m extra-sad that I wasn’t home this week.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Love,
    – Daddy

  4. As one of your invited guests, I am thrilled to have you cook and write about it. You an artist eye and cook’s taste!

    I just saw a beautiful meal that Cat Cora did the other night on Iron Chef. It would be great if you got a chance to meet her one day as Marilynn from Santa Barbara suggests.

    Love you lots,
    Grandma

  5. Hi, Emma.

    Since I was one of the first to know that you cook on Sunday nights, I started making dinner. I don’t have a night, but I made lasagna last night. The cookbook I used is, “Honest Pretzels”. They show step-by-step instructions. I recommend it.
    I would like to invite you to dinner that I make some time.

    We found the River Cottage Family cookbook in the library (thanks to you), and we like it. I want to check out the Laura Ingalls Wilder cookbook as well.

    Those cheese straws sound good. Actually, everything you made sounds good.

    Tell Max that he should try the fritters. We love mushrooms and we’d love to take you mushroom picking sometime at our house. We cook up Chanterelles with butter, garlic and rosemary flowers.

    Love, Rumi

    • Hi Rumi-
      That’s so great that you are cooking too! It would be fun to pick mushrooms with you sometime. Everyone is looking forward to playing Robin Hood again– maybe we can arrange something soon. Check on my blog on Friday to see what I did this week.
      Love ,
      Emma

  6. Hi Emma,
    I’m sure you’re a better cook than me already! We’ve been having a lot of fun cooking roasts and chicken in the crock pot lately, so tasty and makes the whole house smell good. Also great writing!
    Much love!
    Corin

  7. Congratulations, Emma! Reading your blog made me HUNGRY!! It’s so cool that you are able to not only plan, cook, share, and clean up your delicious meals, but also write about them on your blog!! BRAVO! Love to you and your whole family, Jan xxx

Leave a Reply

